Music from Another World

Author(s): Robin Talley

Young Adult

The brand-new novel from the 2020 CILIP Carnegie medal nominee and New York Times bestseller, Robin Talley. ************************************************************* 'I'm just so sick of blending in...' It's 1977, and the USA is tearing itself apart. And so is Tammy Larson. Seventeen and scared, Tammy has a secret that her strict community and conservative family must never find out; one that she's only ever shared in unposted letters to her hero, Harvey Milk. She's gay. Hundreds of miles away, Tammy's new pen pal is dealing with a few secrets of her own. Sharon Hawkins lives in foggy San Francisco, an exciting city full of protests and punk music. But as the letters pile up in her desk drawer, Sharon begins to realise that her world might not be that different to Tammy's after all... Set to a soundtrack of Bowie, Blondie and a whole lot of Patti Smith, the girls' worlds converge in ways they could never have imagined. With a fierce sense of rebellion and a feminist attitude to boot, Tammy and Sharon soon discover what it means to be their true selves, and one thing's for sure: they're both sick of blending in. The perfect empowering and life-affirming read for fans of Caitlin Moran, Becky Albertalli and Meredith Russo. ************************************************************* Praise for Robin Talley's previous novels: 'The main characters are terrific in what is a moving novel. And an important one.' The Telegraph 'absolutely loved it - romantic and funny and gripping and just generally excellent!' Tom Ellen, author of Freshers 'touching, clever and absolutely hilarious' The Herald 'I really loved the book... it was just a lovely, refreshing read for me, and I'm so glad there are authors like Robin Talley out there.' Bookseller 'One of the most interesting and informative LGBT books I've read recently!' Reader 'I read it in one sitting!' NetGalley reviewer 'a must-read for anyone interested in LGBTQ+ history' NetGalley reviewer 'a very timely novel' NetGalley reviewer

$19.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
3

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781867202257
  • : Harlequin Enterprises (Australia) Pty Limited
  • : Harlequin Mills
  • : March 2020
  • : 2.5 Centimeters X 12.8 Centimeters X 20 Centimeters
  • : May 2020
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Robin Talley
  • : 384
  • : Paperback